Scissorhands

January 16, 2012

I’ve been meaning to try out some different forms of art, lately. Which is why, when I stumbled upon this lovely t-shirt design, I wasted no time in grabbing a pencil and got right to work

The design here is based on Tim Burton’s Edward Scissorhands. I  like Mr.Burton’s movies by and large, but I wholeheartedly adore his style of art, and Edward Scissorhands is an excellent example. The movie is sort of a modern day retelling of Frankenstein, and Edward is that fish-out-of-water character that a lot of Tim Burton movies seem to feature. Another common element to his films is the factory assembly line sequence, and you can see his taste for that sort of thing in Edward’s Scissor-hands.
I’ve also been meaning to try out paper-cutting for a while (despite the fact that I struggle to cut in a straight line). And here are the results:

Of course, not everything went well. Halfway through, I found out I had no glue.(All the people who know me are now rolling their eyes going ‘Of course. GOD.’ I can feel it.). I was pretty much ready to rip everything up and wallow in misery, but then I realized that I was out of glue and not the world (I do have my moments, folks) and so I ran to the nearest store ,complete with a fish I’d drawn on my foot in ball pen (don’t ask) with the result that I now have four tubes of glue. Meaning a repeat can be expected 3 months from now.

Version-1

I wanted to do two very different versions, each of which was a captures something of the feel of the movie. So, here’s the second one,  in pastel colours:

  

Thoughts in the comments section, as always. 🙂

4 Responses to “Scissorhands”

  1. starrypiscean said

    ❤ !

  2. Like! Also, I totally went “Of Course!” when you figured out you had no glue. XD!

Section pour les commentaires:

